Our Therapists
Resources
Parents & GuardiansTeens & Young Adults
F.A.Q.
Parents & GuardiansTeens & Young AdultsAbout
Teen Resource Home

Stress

The lives of teens and young adults are filled with stressors – school, extracurricular activities, peers, romantic relationships and family relationships to name a few. There is no way to avoid stress, so learning to handle stress in adaptive and effective ways is an important skill. Difficulties with healthy stress management may cause other problems, such as depressed or anxious mood or maladaptive coping behaviors like substance use or self-injury.

Featured

Resources

High schoolers talk about their thoughts and coping mechanisms for anxiety and other things they are thinking about. They discuss self care strategies and their own wellbeing.

Middle schoolers talk about their thoughts and coping mechanisms for anxiety and other things they are thinking about. They discuss self care strategies from basketball to playing with slime.

Beautiful combinations of quotes and images, a quick release of joy and love on any feed.

This one goes out to all those teens who can't get out of bed no matter how hard they try, who have gone three days without seeing anyone (or even brushing their hair). You're not alone, and our teen experts (and a few twentysomethings) can prove it.

Madhumita Murgia shows how chronic stress can affect brain size, its structure, and how it functions, right down to the level of your genes.

Calm your thoughts, navigate your stress, and understand your anxiety with this compact illustrated guide for overthinkers everywhere.

From acclaimed author Laura Silverman comes a timely novel about a gay teen’s struggle when academic success and romantic happiness pull him in opposite directions, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Tamara Ireland Stone.

Trevor Moawad on how he helps athletes like Russel Wilson and U.S. Special Operations Forces focus their thinking.

Q&A website focused on a variety of questions about mental health, teen life, and pretty much everything else.

For lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender teens, stress is common. But it doesn’t have to be.

All Resources

Video

Self-Care in High School

MGH Clay Center

High schoolers talk about their thoughts and coping mechanisms for anxiety and other things they are thinking about. They discuss self care strategies and their own wellbeing.

Video

Self-Care in Middle School

MGH Clay Center

Middle schoolers talk about their thoughts and coping mechanisms for anxiety and other things they are thinking about. They discuss self care strategies from basketball to playing with slime.

Influencer

@recipiesforselflove

@recipiesforselflove

Beautiful combinations of quotes and images, a quick release of joy and love on any feed.

Video

How We Cope With Anxiety & Stress

MTV's Teen Code

This one goes out to all those teens who can't get out of bed no matter how hard they try, who have gone three days without seeing anyone (or even brushing their hair). You're not alone, and our teen experts (and a few twentysomethings) can prove it.

Video

How stress affects your brain

Madhumita Murgia

Madhumita Murgia shows how chronic stress can affect brain size, its structure, and how it functions, right down to the level of your genes.

Book

Get Out of My Head

Meredith Arthur

Calm your thoughts, navigate your stress, and understand your anxiety with this compact illustrated guide for overthinkers everywhere.

Book

You Asked for Perfect

Laura Silverman

From acclaimed author Laura Silverman comes a timely novel about a gay teen’s struggle when academic success and romantic happiness pull him in opposite directions, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Tamara Ireland Stone.

Article

Interview with Trevor Moawad: The Man Responsible for Russell Wilson’s Mental Conditioning

Jackie Cooperman | Worth Media

Trevor Moawad on how he helps athletes like Russel Wilson and U.S. Special Operations Forces focus their thinking.

Website

Q&A for Emotional Health

goaskalice.columbia.edu

Q&A website focused on a variety of questions about mental health, teen life, and pretty much everything else.

Article

LGBT Teens and Stress

Matt McMillen, WebMD

For lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender teens, stress is common. But it doesn’t have to be.